Café del Mundo

The Art of Flamenco
Place: Bad Wimpfen, Kursaal
When: October 31, 2020

Ticket: 26 Euros (advance booking), 28 Euros (box office)
RESERVIX

We are very happy to present the two renown guitarists Jan Pascal and Alexander Kilian, better known as Café del Mundo.

After having the honor of showing the two guitarists previous concert, we are more than happy to announce that Jan Pascal and Alexander Kilian will return to Blacksheep with their program. This time, they will be accompanied by the two dancers Azucena Rubio and Mercedes Pizarro: “The Art of Flamenco” will enchant us this evening.

We serve Spanish dishes and wines and look forward to a top-class cultural event.

The Art of Flamenco

The German-Spanish flamenco crossover production “The Art of Flamenco” follows never before heard and seen ways. Café del Mundo reinvents flamenco from the very heart and creates a brilliant stage experience of unforgettable moments.

Flamenco is always about everything: love and burden, cheering and complaining. The magic of pure existence pulsates in its heart, limitless, timeless, always new and full of curiosity for life.

Flamenco never stops. It knows all moods between fire and peace, and what it touches breathes new life. “The Art of Flamenco” unites all opposites and turns four artist personalities into two duets into a musical-dance unity of intoxicating power.

The musicians

Jan Pascal, born in 1975, comes from a family of musicians. He received his first guitar from his grandfather in Spain and his first lessons from an uncle.

He grew up with his Silesian grandmother Edeltraud Bonk (soprano and church musician). He later attended the Münsterschwarzach music boarding school, where he took piano lessons from Father Domenikus Trautner. After studying singing with John Porter and classical guitar with Bernhard Weber in Heidelberg, he founded his own recording studio in 1996. His flamenco guitar knowledge stems from Rafael Cortes and Mariano Martín.

Alexander Kilian, born in 1987, is considered a guitarist prodigy. He received his multicultural musical education from Zaza Miminoshvili. At the age of 15 he won his first international competition for the play “Guajiras de Lucia” by Paco de Lucia.

This successful story is followed by numerous master classes and concert invitations to Israel, Russia, Georgia, Spain and Italy. In 2011 he received an artistic diploma in jazz guitar, in 2007 he met Jan Pascal at a flamenco guitar workshop. This encounter sparked  ideas for a collaboration immediately. Since then they have composed numerous joint albums: “Nuevo Cuarteto” (2008), “Café del Mundo” (2012), “La Perla” (2014), and a live recording “In Passion” (2015). 2015 also brought “Dance of Joy “, a remake of the artists’ first joint compositions. Then in 2018 “Beloved Europa” was released, an album that moves and takes a stand. The band name is derived from a concert review in which a critic writes that he feels that he is transferred to the legendary “Café Cantante”, which turns the band name “Café del Mundo”.

The ensemble

  • Jan Pascal – Flamenco guitar
  • Alexander Kilian – Flamenco guitar
  • Azucena Rubio – Dancer
  • Mercedes Pizarro – Dancer

Website:www.cafedelmundo.de

Café del Mundo

The Art of Flamenco
Ort: Bad Wimpfen, Kursaal
Wann: 31.10.2020

Ticket: 26 Euro VVK, 28 Euro AK
RESERVIX

Wir freuen uns sehr, die beiden Top-Gitarristen Jan Pascal und Alexander Kilian, besser bekannt als Café del Mundo, bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Schon einmal hatten wir die Ehre, die beiden bei einem Spanischen Abend zu präsentieren. Mit Azucena Rubio und Mercedes Pizarro bringen sie nun zwei Tänzerinnen mit: „The Art of Flamenco“ soll uns an diesem Abend verzaubern.

Wir servieren dazu passend spanische Speisen und Weine und freuen uns auf ein kulturelles Ereignis der Extraklasse.

The Art of Flamenco

Die deutsch-spanische Flamenco-Crossover-Produktion „The Art of Flamenco“ beschreitet nie gehörte und gesehene Wege. Sie erfindet den Flamenco aus seinem innersten Herzen völlig neu und schafft ein fulminantes Bühnenerlebnis von unvergesslicher Buntheit.

Im Flamenco geht es immer um alles: Liebe und Last, Jubel und Klage. In seinem Herzen pulsiert der Zauber des puren Daseins, grenzenlos, zeitlos, stets neu und voller Neugier aufs Leben.

Der Flamenco hört nie auf. Er kennt alle Gemütslagen zwischen feurig und friedlich, und was er anfasst, das atmet neues Leben. „The Art of Flamenco“ vereint alle Gegensätze und macht aus vier Künstlerpersönlichkeiten in zwei Duetten eine musikalisch-tänzerische Einheit von berauschender Kraft.

Die Musiker

Jan Pascal, Jahrgang 1975, entstammt einer Musikerfamilie. Seine erste Gitarre erhält er von seinem Großvater in Spanien, den ersten Unterricht von einem Onkel.

Er wächst bei seiner schlesischen Großmutter Edeltraud Bonk (Sopranistin und Kirchenmusikerin) auf. Später besucht er das Musikinternat Münsterschwarzach, wo er Klavierunterricht bei Pater Domenikus Trautner hat. Nach Unterricht in Gesang bei John Porter und klassischer Gitarre bei Bernhard Weber in Heidelberg gründet er 1996 sein eigenes Tonstudio. Seine Flamenco-Gitarrenkennnisse erhält er bei Rafael Cortes und Mariano Martín.

Alexander Kilian, Jahrgang 1987, gilt als gitarristisches Wunderkind. Seine multikulturelle musikalische Ausbildung erhält er bei Zaza Miminoshvili.

Im Alter von 15 Jahren gewinnt er seinen ersten internationalen Wettbewerb mit dem Stück „Guajiras de Lucia“ von Paco de Lucia. Es folgen zahlreiche Meisterkurse und Konzerteinladungen nach Israel, Russland, Georgien, Spanien und Italien. 2011 erhält er das künstlerische Diplom im Fach Jazz-Gitarre, 2007 lernen sich beide bei einem Flamenco-Gitarrenworkshop kennen. Der Funke springt sofort über. Sie komponieren seitdem die gemeinsamen Alben, „Nuevo Cuarteto“ (2008), „Café del Mundo“ (2012), „La Perla“ (2014) und eine live Aufnahme „In Passion“ (2015), 2015 erscheint auch „Dance of Joy“, ein Remake ihrer ersten gemeinsamen Kompositionen. 2018 dann „Beloved Europa“, ein Album, das anrührt und Haltung bezieht. Der Bandname leitet sich aus einer Konzertbesprechung ab, in der ein Kritiker schreibt, er fühle sich in das legendäre „Café Cantante“ versetzt, woraus der Bandname „Café del Mundo“ wird.

Das Ensemble

  • Jan Pascal – Flamenco-Gitarre
  • Alexander Kilian – Flamenco-Gitarre
  • Azucena Rubio – Tanz
  • Mercedes Pizarro – Tanz

Website: www.cafedelmundo.de