Guitars and Flamenco

Café del Mundo
Place: Bad Wimpfen, Kursaal
When: October 30, 2021

 

Café del Mundo is coming back: On Saturday, October 30th, from 7.30 p.m., the guitar duo will play for us in the Kursaal in Bad Wimpfen. Also there: the dancer Azucena Rubio Calle. An evening that promises to be real musical fireworks. Look forward with us to Café del Mundo and their program “Guitars and Flamenco” put together exclusively for blacksheep.

Presale: June 26, 2021

Flamenco, the music of the magical south, has lived unbroken for many thousands of years, it is nostalgic and timeless at the same time, full of grace, passion and secret power. In the heart of this music Europe, Africa and the Orient meet; this is where the pulse of the hot south beats. 

The two guitar virtuosos Jan Pascal and Alexander Kilian are as opposites as water and fire – and thus complement each other to a guitar duo at world level. Their live performance is the rousing dialogue between two gifted instrumental artists who sometimes flatter one another, sometimes challenge one another and elicit their best from one another – intense, explosive, magical. 

The guitar art of “Café del Mundo” is much more than just virtuoso entertainment – it’s about everything that moves us, about love, longing, death and joie de vivre, about heaven and earth. This pristine music unfolds irresistible power, it casts a spell, makes you rich, wakes you up and touches you. 

If God were a musician – the flamenco guitar would be his instrument. Dr. Markus Grimm

JAN PASCAL born in 1975, comes from a family of musicians. He received his first guitar from his grandfather in Spain and his first lessons from an uncle. He grew up with his grandmother, the soprano Edeltraud Bonk, and later attended the Münsterschwarzach boarding school. After taking lessons in piano, singing and classical guitar, he founded his own recording studio in 1996 and the indie label visioninmusic in 2002.

ALEXANDER KILIAN Born in 1987, is considered a guitar prodigy. He received his multicultural musical training from Zaza Miminoshvili. At the age of 15 he won his first international competition with the piece “Guajiras de Lucia” by Paco de Lucia. Numerous master classes and concert invitations to Israel, Russia, Georgia, Spain and Italy follow. In 2011 he received the artistic diploma in jazz guitar.

AZUCENA RUBIO CALLE comes from Seville and is a bridge builder between cultures. She overcomes rigid genre boundaries through the power of her authenticity. With the flamenco companies “Encuentros” and “Antonio Andrade” she tours all over Europe, shares the stage with artists such as Juan Granados, Alicia Vargas, Paco de la Linea, Miguel Sotelo and Mariano Martin. For Azucena Rubio, passing on art is also a matter close to his heart. She has a teaching position at the renowned Renate Wagner Institute in Mannheim, the only chair recognized by the Catedra de Flamenco Mariquilla in Germany.

Jan Pascal and Alexander Kilian met in 2007 at a flamenco guitar workshop. The spark leaps over immediately. Since then they have been composing three albums together, “Nuevo Cuarteto” (2008), “Café del Mundo” (2012), “La Perla” (2014, GLM Music | FM 188) and a live recording “In Passion” (2015, GLM Music | FM 201-1), which appears on vinyl and for the first time also contains arrangements by Chick Corea, Paco de Lucia, Al di Meola, Zequinha de Abreu and Enrique Granados. 2015 will be “Dance of Joy” (GLM fine music | FM 214) , a remix and remaster of their first compositions together. In September 2018 the duo will release their most personal album to date “Beloved Europa” (GLM fine music | FM 236) with a number of unique guitar pieces, as well as a flamenco version of Goethe / Schubert’s “Erlkönig “.

Since 2008 they have been touring every year, with a band, with a dancer and as a duo. In the meantime there are 120 concerts per year that take them to Germany, Italy, France, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Luxembourg, the Czech Republic, Poland and Greece. Regular invitations to renowned music festivals such as the Rheingau Music Festival, the Slask days or the JazzOpen Stuttgart mark their entry into the class of internationally sought-after concert guitarists.

The band name is derived from a concert review in which a critic writes that he feels he has been transported to the legendary “Café Cantante”, from which the band name “Café del Mundo” becomes.

Café del Mundo

Guitars and Flamenco
Ort: Bad Wimpfen, Kursaal
Wann: 30.10.2021

 

Café del Mundo kommt zurück: Am Samstag, 30. Oktober, ab 19.30 Uhr, spielt das Gitarrenduo für uns im Kursaal in Bad Wimpfen. Mit dabei: die Tänzerin Azucena Rubio Calle. Ein Abend, der ein musikalisches Feuerwerk zu werden verspricht. Freut Euch mit uns auf Jan Pascal und Alexander Kilian und ihr exklusiv für diesen Abend zusammengestelltes Programm „Guitars and Flamenco“.

VVK-Start: 26. Juni 2021

Der Flamenco, die Musik des magischen Südens, lebt ungebrochen seit vielen tausend  Jahren, er ist nostalgisch und zeitlos zugleich, voller Anmut, Leidenschaft und geheimer Kraft. Im Herzen dieser Musik begegnen einander Europa, Afrika und der Orient, hier schlägt der Puls  des heißen Südens.

Die beiden Gitarrenvirtuosen Jan Pascal und Alexander Kilian sind gegensätzlich wie Wasser  und Feuer – und ergänzen sich dadurch zu einem Gitarrenduo auf Weltniveau. Ihr Live-Auftritt ist der mitreißende Dialog zweier begnadeter Instrumentalkünstler, die sich gegenseitig bald umschmeicheln, bald herausfordern und einander ihr Bestes  entlocken – intensiv, explosiv, magisch.

Die Gitarrenkunst von „Café del Mundo“ ist jedoch weit mehr als virtuose Unterhaltung – es  geht um alles, was uns Menschen bewegt, um Liebe, Sehnsucht, Tod und Lebensfreude, um Himmel und Erde. Diese urwüchsige Musik entfaltet unwiderstehliche Kraft, sie schlägt in Bann, macht reich, weckt auf und berührt.

Wäre Gott ein Musiker – die Flamenco-Gitarre wäre sein Instrument. Dr. Markus Grimm

JAN PASCAL Jahrgang 1975, entstammt einer Musikerfamilie. Seine erste Gitarre erhält er von seinem  Großvater in Spanien, den ersten Unterricht von einem Onkel. Er wächst bei seiner Großmutter, der Sopranis-tin Edeltraud Bonk, auf, später besucht er das Musikinternat Münsterschwarzach. Nach Unterricht in Klavier,  Gesang und klassischer Gitarre gründet er  1996 sein eigenes Tonstudio, 2002 das Indie-Label visioninmusic. 

ALEXANDER KILIAN Jahrgang 1987, gilt als gitarristisches Wunderkind. Seine multikulturelle  musikalische  Ausbildung erhält er bei Zaza Miminoshvili. Im Alter von 15 Jahren gewinnt er seinen ersten  internationalen Wettbewerb mit dem Stück „Guajiras de Lucia“ von Paco de Lucia. Es folgen zahlreiche  Meisterkurse und Konzerteinladungen nach Israel, Russland, Georgien, Spanien und Italien. 2011 erhält er das  künstlerische Diplom im Fach Jazz-Gitarre. 

AZUCENA RUBIO CALLE stammt aus Sevilla und ist eine Brückenbauerin zwischen den Kulturen. Sie  überwindet rigide Genregrenzen durch die Kraft Ihrer Authentizität. Mit den Flamenco-Kompanien  „Encuentros“ und „Antonio Andrade“ tourt sie durch ganz Europa, teilt die Bühne mit Künstlern wie Juan  Granados, Alicia Vargas, Paco de la Linea, Miguel Sotelo und Mariano Martin. Für Azucena Rubio ist auch die  Weitergabe der Kunst eine Herzensangelegenheit. Sie hat einen Lehrauftrag am renommierten Institut Renate  Wagner in Mannheim, dem einzigen in Deutschland von der Catedra de Flamenco Mariquilla anerkannten Lehrstuhl.

Jan Pascal und Alexander Kilian lernen sich 2007 bei einem Flamenco-Gitarrenworkshop kennen. Der Funke springt sofort über. Sie komponieren seitdem drei gemeinsame Alben, „Nuevo Cuarteto“ (2008), „Café del Mundo“ (2012), „La Perla“ (2014, GLM Music | FM 188) und eine live Aufnahme „In Passion“ (2015, GLM Music | FM 201-1), die auf Vinyl erscheint und erstmals auch Bearbeitungen von Chick Corea, Paco de Lucia, Al di Meola, Zequinha de  Abreu und Enrique Granados enthält. 2015 erscheint „Dance of Joy“ (GLM fine music | FM 214), ein Remix und Remaster ihrer ersten gemeinsamen Kompositionen. Im September 2018 veröffentlicht das Duo sein bisher persönlichstes Album „Beloved Europa“ (GLM fine music | FM 236) mit einer Reihe einzigartiger Gitarrenstücken, wie auch einer Flamenco-Version von  Goethe/Schuberts „Erlkönig“. 

Seit 2008 spielen sie jährliche Tourneen, mit Band, mit Tänzerin und als Duo. Inzwischen sind es 120 Konzerten pro Jahr, die sie neben Deutschland nach Italien, Frankreich, Spanien, Schweiz, Österreich, Luxemburg, Tschechien, Polen und  Griechenland führen. Regelmäßige Einladungen zu renommierten Musik-Festivals  wie das Rheingau-Musikfestival, die Slask days, oder das JazzOpen Stuttgart  markieren ihren Einzug in die Klasse  international  gefragter Konzertgitarristen.

Der Bandname leitet sich aus einer Konzertbesprechnung ab, in der ein Kritiker  schreibt, er fühle sich in das legendäre „Café Cantante“ versetzt, woraus der  Bandname „Café del Mundo“ wird.