Murphy’s Law


How it all started …

The origins of what is today one of Berlin‘s best loved folk bands date back to 2011, when front man Danny O’Connor met fellow Irishman Alan Jackson on St Patrick’s Day. They began playing gigs together, and as the stages got bigger, the band grew as well. While Alan Jackson left Murphy’s Law for personal reasons, Sara Thögersen’s energetic fiddle playing and distinct vocals are key to the band’s characteristic sound until today.

Musical Milestones

Milestones in Murphy’s Law band history are the release of their first studio album Half Full and its follow-up Full House. As the band were outgrowing their Folk cover beginnings and sets became a more versatile selection of folk, rock and pop, the line-up changed as well. In 2019, Moe Jaksch joined Murphy’s Law on double bass, a powerful addition to the band’s sound and the growing number of live shows they are playing all over Germany.

Black Sheep

Meanwhile, front man Danny O’Connor released his first solo album, Black Sheep. Recorded with musicians from the extended Murphy’s Law family, it features Danny’s original songs and was greeted with enthusiasm by listeners and critics alike. The charismatic, audience-engaging front man made a magnificent debut in the world of songwriting and arranging, and his ideas keep boosting the band’s unique energy.

Work on new EP

Murphy’s Law have grown into a connected and well attuned team ready to meet new musical challenges and new audiences. Loved by their fans in Berlin and elsewhere, standing on the solid foundation of five years together and rejuvenated by the impulses of the last two, they are about to write a new chapter and are currently working on their next EP.


The band

  • Danny O’Connor – singing, guitar, stompbox bass, drums
  • Sara Thögersen – singing, fiddle
  • Jens Clarberg – bass
additional informations Website Facebook

back to line-up